Photo by William Lange

Maricopa Chamber of Commerce has announced the finalists for the 10th annual Maricopa Community Awards.

The awards banquet, this year a Black and White Gala, is set for Elements Events Center at Ak-Chin Circle, 16000 N Maricopa Road, Jan. 21 from 5:30 to 9:30 p.m., when the winners will be announced.

Chamber members vote on the recipients of the seven awards.


“The Waz” Business of the Year
Adobe Blinds & More – owned by Danielle Collazo
Pro-X Detailing – owned by Jason and Marina Love
Harrah’s Ak-Chin Casino

Small Business of the Year
Helen’s Kitchen and Catering – owned by Helen Ford
InMaricopa – owned by Scott Bartle
Impressive Imaging – owned by Robert Kistler

Sonny Dunn Citizen of the Year
Judith Zaimont – Maricopa Arts Council
Michelle Avery Schaefer – Maricopa Pantry
Vincent Manfredi – Maricopa “Vote Yes” Committee

Renate Chamberlain Volunteer of the Year
Carrie Vargas – Miss Maricopa/Maricopa Community Theatre
Evan Grace – Maricopa Youth Council/Relay for Life/Blue Star Moms Toys for Kids
Jamie Adamkiewicz – Cub Scouts/community sports team volunteer

Non-Profit of the Year
Maricopa Arts Council
Maricopa Education Foundation
The Streets Don’t Love You Back

Educator of the Year
Christine Dickinson – Maricopa Elementary
Lauren Miller – Sequoia Pathway
Tayna Neilson – Saddleback Elementary

Civil Servant of the Year
Marvin Brown, vice mayor, Maricopa City Council
Matthew Reiter, Fitness coordinator at Copper Sky
Steve Stahl, City of Maricopa Chief of Police

Tickets are $50 per person and $90 per couple. Attire is semi-formal. The event is for ages 21 and up. Visit