Pinal Supervisors select Martinez to replace Roberts in LD-11


From left supervisor Kevin Cavanaugh, Supervisor Mike Goodman, Neil Carter, Supervisor Miller, Teresa Martinez,, Supervisor McClure, Supervisor, Jeff Serdy [Pinal County]
The Pinal County Board of Supervisors selected Teresa Martinez to replace Rep. Bret Roberts in Legislative District 11 Wednesday. Roberts, who is moving to South Carolina, resigned his seat on Sept. 9, effective Sept. 30.

Martinez won by a vote of 3-2, with Chairman Stephen Miller of District 3, Vice Chairman Goodman of District 2, and Jeff Serdy of District 5 voting for Martinez. Jeff McClure, who represents Maricopa in District 4 voted for Kirk Fiehler.

Martinez will take office with a firm idea of her priorities in the legislature.

“The biggest concerns in Pinal County are going to be water and transportation,” she said. “I will do everything in my power to represent the people of Pinal County to the best of my ability, and to make things happen that benefit the residents of this district.”

The Board of Supervisors unanimously selected Neal Carter as Frank Pratt’s replacement in LD-8.

Martinez, who is a resident of Casa Grande, said she is unsure when she will take office. She said she and Carter’s names will be sent to Secretary of State Katie Hobbs, who will notify House Speaker Rusty Bowers, who will set up their inaugurations.