Photo by RaquePhoto by Raquel Hendricksonl Hendrickson

Saturday and Sunday, 135 disc golfers converged on Maricopa for the annual Maricopa Meadows Open. Treated to fair weather, 34 players were under par on the course. Kevin Jones of Arkansas shot 23 under par to win the pro/am by one stroke over Anthony Barela of Mesa.

Players came from as far away as Washington and North Carolina. Mayor Christian Price, a resident of Maricopa Meadows, was part of the opening ceremonies.

Rex Rogers of Scottsdale shot 14 under par to win the masters division by three strokes over Sam Russ of Maricopa and Jeff Wilson of Phoenix. David Neff of Phoenix won the grand masters with 6 under par. Tommy Gunz Trujillo III of Phoenix won the advanced division with 9 under par, one stroke better than Andrew Jones of Gilbert.

Scott Henderson of Gilbert won the advanced masters division with 2 under, the only competitor under par. Roger Jimenez of Chandler won the amateur masters 50+ with 7 under par. Ted Miller of Phoenix won the amateur masters 60+ with an even par score. Daryl Stoneman of Maricopa won the intermediate amateur with 2 over par. William Atkinson of Kingman won the recreational division with 4 over par.

Among the women, Kristy Pirkle of Kingman won the advanced women division with 24 over par against three opponents. Patricia Miller-Aceto won the amateur master 40+ with 27 over par against two opponents.